March 26, 2013

  • Tuesday 26th March

     

     

     

    My day began with a very rude awakening.

    A phone call at just after 4am jolted me out of a deep sleep.

    It was totally unimportant and an unnecessary interruption which really upset me.

    Especially after the late 11pm phone calls the previous night.

    When you get a call in the night it is usually because something is wrong, so when it is due to hysteria it is more than upsetting.

    It took me a while to get back to sleep and then only managed another hour.

     

    When the children began moving I got up and made myself some breakfast and brought it back to bed to eat while I knitted and watched a 'Midsomer Murder'.

    Rowena arrived with juice, chocolates and tlc.

    Her smiling face and administrations to my wellbeing are very appreciated heart

    She's a sweet, busy, loving lady who takes pleasure in caring for others.

    Who knew that taking her into our home back in 1987 would result in her being such a blessing to me now?

    A lot of water has passed under our bridges in all those years and despite the physical distance between us our friendship is stronger than ever.

    Shoshannah came to see me.

    She was not doing well so we sat and talked for a few moments.

    But I was interrupted by yet another phone call.

    I have enough to deal with without having to put up with other peoples dramas.

    It was just way too much.

    I ended up losing it and sobbing my heart out at the kitchen bench.

    A phone call with Seb helped to calm things and I was able to leave it all behind and move on into the day.

     

    It was a glorious Autumn day - hot, sunny and calm.

    Bri & Abby got the girls organised to go kayaking.

    Mahalia & Anna went out first in the double kayak.

    Then Bri got the large Sea Bear kayak that Tim & I bought at the end of January and took it out for a test drive.

    I was amused to see that she was able to fit Niamh & Kate into the extra holds.

    They all headed off across the bay to catch fish.

     

    Matt & Jack spent the morning helping Anson with stock work.

    He had all the sheep in the yards to sort, drench and tag.

    Two hours later the kayakers returned.

    They had had a lovely time but young Kate had gotten rather bored and was quite vocal about it winky

     

     

    Rowena prepared the chickens for dinner and began making truffles.

    Shoshannah made spirals for lunch.

    They always go down well.

    Marah came round for a walk, it is always good to see her.

    After lunch Anson took Cat home on his bike and Leeann & Marah walked.

    The girls then borrowed Anson's truck and went over the hill to see Graham.

    Cat climbed trees to put ropes up to prepare them for felling.

    Leeann loaded the truck with sawdust and milling chips.

     

    I wasn't feeling great, didn't much feel like eating.

    Ended up munching on a couple of peanut butter and honey sandwiches.

    I left the Mahalia & Anna to do some vege prep for dinner.

    Then Rowena and I went walking.

    We wandered around to The Croft and visited with Marah for an hour or two.

    It was lovely just to sit and chat in the cool of their back verandah.

    Checked out the baby's room, Marah has been painting it - looking good!

    I deliberately left my phone at home so it was doubly good to be away from all demands for a while.

    We set off towards home around 4:30pm.

    Took the long route back by side tracking to the top sheds.

    The sheep were in the yards.

    Enjoying the late afternoon sunshine.

    All waiting to be shorn.

    Olly was enjoying hay from Mahalia's birthday hay sling.

    He is right into food so paid us no attention at all!

    Rowena hadn't seen some of the newer buildings and alterations so we meandered down the hill.

    Stopped in to visit Bri & Abby for a mo and then down to view Cat's latest rennos.

    Looking great with the 'new' ranch slider and deck.

     

    Seb & Phoebe had taken Matt & Jack out in the boat.

    Seb has a lot of mussel farm maintenance to do so he incorporated that with some fishing.

    The guys were rapt with their afternoon out on the water.

    Chatted for a  few minutes before Seb & Phoebe headed off home.

    Seb had been harvesting through the night and was rather tired.

    Matt and the kids watching stingrays and fish under the wharf.

     

    Anson was tagging sheep as we came through the shed.

    It was all quiet in there and all I could hear was the click of the tagging gun.

    Matt stayed to help him finish off, he had to draft them up again before shearing in the morning.

     

    A lot of cute wee fantails are darting around at present, busily catching flies.

    They arrive here in abundance in the early Autumn, they are such cheery little birds, they fly indoors and dart hither and thither catching flies.

    This wee one was flitting around the rope by the shore.

    It is quite hard to catch them on camera cuz they hardly stop still for a moment but I managed to get this one!!

    Jesika & Evan's protea at the bottom of the garden has two large flowers about to open.

    These are the first for this bush so most exciting.

    Mahalia, Anna & Jack hung out on the end of the wharf and did some fishing int he late arvo sun.

    Such a beautiful evening.

    Meanwhile, back in the kitchen, Rowena was demolishing the chickens and making her famous chicken pie for dinner.

    It was delicious.

    Graham, Anson & Marah came for dinner - 17 around the tables tonight.

    Some chose to sit out on the deck and enjoy the evening air.

    I made ambrosia for dessert.

    Dinner went down well happy

    Lots of laughter and crazy fun.

    Azzan was most entertaining.

     

    I got a phone call from Ant just before dinner.

    He has been scouting for a new vehicle for me.

    He called and asked me how urgently I needed it.

    I told him I was in no hurry, just wanted to wait until the right one was found.

    Then he said, 'Well I have just bought one for you!!'

    I was so excited.

    He had been prepared to go searching int he North Island while he was up there on business and had gone to see the first one on the list and it ticked all the boxes.

    So I now have a new car.

    So excited laughing

    For all you petrol diesel heads these are the specs

    Nissan Regulus 1997

    142,000km, diesel, 3200cc automatic 4WD,  5 door

    ABS brakes
    Air conditioning
    Central locking
    Driver airbag
    Passenger airbag
    Power steering
    Towbar

     

    and it is Gold.

    Not black.

    Gold!!

    I am so happy and so blessed  pleased

    Just working through the logistics of getting it down here now, but that is a minor issue in comparison to 'The Search'.

     

     

     

    I was really really tired so glad to head off to bed around 9pm.

    Everyone had left by then and the kids were just putting themselves to bed.

    Rowena gave me a lovely relaxing back massage so I was able to climb between the sheets and almost fall straight to sleep.

     

     

     

     

Comments (5)

  • This is a lovely post -- the photos are beautiful, and you sound much more able to enjoy life a little more now!

  • Raewyn, I can't help but wonder what your grocery list looks like!  Living in the country, how do you fudge it all into the car AND squeeze the gang in??!

    Cat's turned the "hut" into such a cute cottage!And congratulations on your new Toyota!! You need something sparkly.  Xox

  • @alehoo - sometimes my grocery list is long, just depends on when I last stocked up. I buy in bulk when I can. Most times the vehicle is very full when we are coming home!  As for my new 'Toyota' - read it properly Alexis - it is a Nissan!! I wouldn't buy a Toyota! We are Nissan folk

  • @slmret - life has to carry on. But as for ' more able to enjoy life a little more now' - I don't think that really is the case. I am living because I have to. I have no choice. I have a family to be here for and to care about. As for enjoying life - no, I am not. 

  • What a bonehead I am!  Nissan it is and I stand corrected!  :)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment