June 2, 2013

  • Sunday 2nd June

     

     

     

    I woke early and while I was catching up on some emails I heard via a friend that xanga.com is looking at closing down.Needless to say I was a tad horrified as I have 8 years of blog captured within it's walls.
    Thankfully my friend knows a thing or two about computers and internet and is able to help me to save it all and transfer to a new server.
    So in the next few weeks there will be some changes made.
    Will keep you posted.

    I screamed through the shower soon after 8am, packed my bag, stripped my bed and said goodbye to Dave and Christine.
    It had been a great weekend.
    I chucked some library books in the returns shoot, fueled up the Regulus and drove to Renwick.
    Stopped in to pick up last Wednesday's newspaper from Cynthia & Graham with the hard copy article about us and the Rescue Helicopter.

    I raced through to Havelock to meet up with Ant & Ger, Jan & Talbot at The Slip Inn for brunch.

    Jan & Talbot were attending the local craft market so had to leave soon after I arrived.
    I ordered my breakfast and sat and chatted with Ant & Ger.
    I was really struggling to keep my emotions under control.
    But with friends it is okay to be real.
    I must say, it is the first time I have been disappointed with my meal at Slip Inn.
    It was edible but certainly not the best Eggs Benedict I have had.
    Didn't even look appetizing.

    The morning was disappearing and Ant had to go collect the truck and head to Elaine Bay to pick up mussels from the harvest Sebastian was doing.
    We were outside talking and he was checking a few things out underneath my Regulus when Lorraine came by on her scooter.
    While we were having a lovely chat with her, Muff & Paul arrived for coffee, closely followed by Sus & Chris.
    So I said goodbye to Ant & Ger and went back inside and had a drink with the others.

    It was good to see them all, haven't caught up in so long.
    But I needed to get on the road as I didn't want to be late home.
    I zipped along to Rai Valley and then over the hills to Elaine Bay.
    Arrived around 2pm.
    Picked up something from Gabrielle for Marah and then headed to the wharf to see the guys.

    'Tardis' had just arrived in with a harvest on board.
    Ant hadn't arrived yet so the guys went off to do stuff and I went up to visit Julie.
    We were both having an emotional day so shared some tears.
    Then I went back down to the wharf and found Ant just arriving in his very large refrigerated truck.
    There were 20 tonne of mussels to unload.
    They soon had a good team working to get the job done.

    Seb on the crane

    David roping the bags onto crane

    Simon placing and assisting with getting bags from crane into truck

    Paul operating loader to transfer bags on pallets into truck

     

     

     

     

    Ant & Simon maneuvering bags into truck

    And as the truck got more full Simon helped Ant and David was running back & forth from Tardis to the pallets.

     

    I found the panorama setting on phone which gives an interesting overall perspective of the operations.

     

    Doing a post mortem of the process - as blokes do winky

    Very exciting day for the two young men.
    The beginning of a new era of working together.

     

     

    I left the guys to punch their way home through the waves and I followed Ant's truck up the hill.
    I stopped at Tim's cairn to have a few words with him and shed some tears.
    I know my days are full and busy but there is such an emptiness, a void where he should be.
    It is really lonely not having him to come home to, to have him here to talk to and tell him about all the fun things I have been doing.
    I hate not being able to share my worries and concerns with him.
    The hardest thing at the moment is not being able to share the delight and joy of our wee grand daughter.

    The daylight was disappearing and when I got to the top of our hill the sun was shining through the storm clouds.
    The wind was blowing so strongly when I stopped to open the gate.

     

    It was good to get home to the girls.

    They were both well and happy.
    Unpacked my few bags - was a bit different not having a major unpack to do.

    Then crashed into my bed to sleep.

     

     

     

     

Comments (2)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment