June 6, 2013

  • Thursday 6th June

     

     

     

    Ooooh!
    Winter is really upon us.
    This morning was majorly colder, ice on my windscreen when I went to leave.
    The hose was handy so de-iced the windows, turned the heater on and tried to warm up the vehicle.

    I abhor getting stuck in the early morning commuter traffic so wanted to get on the road.
    But then realised my fuel tank was getting too low.
    So we diverted down to Waimea Road and filled up the tank, dropped a dvd off to David who was still sleeping soundly - obviously life on the mussel barge is hard work for an old timer - Happy Birthday David winky
    Then up the street to Salisbury School to meet Gillian and pick up my Nutrimetics order.
    The traffic into town was good from then on so I was very pleased with myself for managing to manage my morning drive aka stress levels laughing

    We called into see Anat & Rami at Crusoe's Cafe and enjoyed hot chocolates, breakfast savouries and a chat.
    Always enjoy the chat happy

    I then whisked Shoshannah down to her 9:45am appointment with Helen Loveday.

    I zipped into Vodafone in the city and picked up a new phone for Mahalia.
    She has been cleaning all the accommodation over summer for me so she asked for the phone in lieu of payment.

    We called in to visit Marah & Mahalia briefly.
    A very unsettled night with our wee darling so Marah was looking eagerly towards returning to her bed.
    Mahalia is doing an excellent job at looking after them both.
    Very proud of her heartHalia was very happy with the new phone and the Alfajores I got her from Crusoe's.

    I met up with Shoshannah at Nelson Beauty Therapy at 11am.
    She was there before me and already doing the proud aunty thing - showing her photos to Julie & Amanda!

    We both had a very enjoyable hour there and then headed down the street to another meeting.
    We were venturing into some uncharted waters so there was a tad of trepidation.
    But it went really well.
    It was very emotional but an excellent hour or so.
    We just had time for Shanni to race down the street and pick up a couple of hot potatoes for lunch and then get to our counseling sessions on time.
    I managed to eat about two mouthfuls of mine, Shoshannah's appointment was 15mins later so she ate as she walked across the park.
    It was another emotional session of therapy.
    Then off to collect Shoshannah and back into town.

    Shoshannah popped into Vodafone to get a wee problem sorted on her new phone and then went to the library.
    I met up with Nuana at Starbucks and hung out with her for a while.
    As she is leaving town to work elsewhere it was good to see her.

    Then she went up to get Nathan and I picked up Shanni and we met at Marah & Mahalia's.
    Both Mum and babe were sleeping soundly when we arrived so we sat and hung out for a while.
    Marah woke before we left at 6pm so we had a quick hug before I scooted out the door with Shoshannah.

    Just had time to pick up Shanni's guitar and drop her off at Ross & Andrea's before heading to my dinner date.

    I was meeting a few other home ed mums at Chai Yo in Richmond.

     

    It was a fun night.
    The beautifully cut vege art created a lot of curiosity as to how they made the shapes?
    The cream cheese stuffed rolls were rather tasty.

    Of course I had to take photographic record of the night, and there is always one in the photo with eyes shut!

    So two photos are necessary

    Smile Deirdre happy

    No! It's too hard laughing

    Finally pleased

     

    We enjoyed a lovely meal and talk.

    Then the others all headed off and Gabrielle and I ended up sitting in her wee car chatting for ages.
    Finally zipped over the street to my chilly wagon and drove back to Ross & Andrea's to some warmth!

    It was a very chilly night so I was glad the heater was turned on in my room.