June 4, 2013

  • Tuesday 4th June

     

     

     

    My bodyclock alarm woke me at 5:30am, for which I was most grateful because I realised that I had set my phone alarm for 5:30pm!

    I showered and then woke Mahalia.
    It had been raining over night but thankfully stopped before we loaded the Regulus.
    We were gone before 6:30am.

    I was asking Mahalia if she had seen Olly in the past couple of days when who should appear in the headlights!
    Mahalia got out to move him out of our way and give him a morning hug.

    We arrived in Nelson just before 9am.
    First stop was Starbucks to fuel up.
    Then we zipped up to Winnington's so Mahalia could drop stuff off to Sophie.
    Then around the corner to find Anson & Marah.
    It was early morning time for them.
    Baby Eden was snuggled up sleeping on the couch.

    And the parents were trying to face the day.
    It was not a good morning for Marah.
    The shock of the past few days was hitting her hard and she had a good cry on my shoulder.
    It is so typical that we all prepare a mother for the birth as best as we can but no one can prepare a young mother for the aftermath.
    It is so hard getting the body readjusted afterwards.
    She was just worn out after a long week in hospital, the anxiety of having baby being monitored so closely, anticipating the labour, then going into the labour and being strung along for several days before they decided to do the emergency c-section.
    Then everything happened so fast.
    So she was now in recovery from a tiring week, anesthetic, caesarian, a distressed baby, milk coming in, and lack of sleep - not to mention all her hormones going stark staring crazy.
    She had every right to have a meltdown.

    We applied a load of TLC.
    Anson has been amazing, so loving and supportive.
    He is wonderful, so cool to see my son step up to the mark and display the attributes he has inherited and learned from his Dad.
    I phoned up Phoebe to pick up a cabbage - they are the absolute best thing for feeding mothers to use to relieve pressure - they never fail to work a treat  happy
    Left Mahalia to be Marah's nanny for the week

    And put Marah to bed to rest while Mahalia & Phoebe guarded the door!
    Seb & I took off to a meeting with Nathan and a couple of other folk.
    That all went well and we were soon back around midday.

    It was pouring with rain so Seb picked up Phoebe and headed to Richmond for their appointment.
    I called up the midwife and got a breastpump organised for Anson to collect while he was out getting other stuff for Marah.
    I zipped off to Richmond to meet up with Sally for lunch.
    It has been far too long since we last talked.
    Despite the circumstances being sad for us both it is a blessing to be able to talk with someone who has walked the same path I am walking.
    She really understands me and knows what I am saying and trying to express, where others can't and don't.
    I had to leave at 2pm so headed up the street in the rain and had a last goodbye hug.
    Got to Ross's and went through papers with him while waiting for Seb & Phoebe to arrive.
    Phoebe rested on the couch for a while and then went for a sleep.
    Much needed after their very early morning start.
    I left Seb & Ross to go over all the stuff they had to do.
    Ross is getting us set up with an iPad to run the mussel business from - it will get all the information from the boats to the office far more quickly and efficiently than has been happening in the past.

    I drove through torrential rain back towards town.
    Found Roger at the depot having his truck unloaded.
    Gave him the boxes of stuff he was taking to Chch for me and then headed to the airport to meet my young lad.
    He has had 2 weeks in Auckland with his sister Sunni.

    The plane was delayed a tad due to the weather, but I only had to wait about 15 mins to greet him at the entrance with his carer.
    Signed the papers and we were away.

     

    We headed into town to get some phone stuff sorted at Vodafone and then I whizzed into Starbucks to get a drink.
    Met Liz there, she was also getting a last drink of the day before heading home.
    I suggsted she might like to come with us and meet Eden and give Marah some encouragement.

    I was so pleased to arrive and find Marah looking so much better.
    The cabbage leaves and breast pump and some sleep had transformed her and made her feel human again pleased
    Mahalia had kept the fire going and had tidied the house and cooked dinner.
    She is a wee treasure of a servant heart.
    We sat and chatted for a while.
    Marah's friend Liz arrived home from work.
    Azzan & Liz were able to have a wee sneak look at Eden while she slept.
    Then we needed to leave - Liz had a few hours drive ahead and Azzan & I were expected for dinner.
    There was quite a party going on when we arrived.
    Nathan & Mira had arrived and Phoebe had just woken.
    Also one of our Israeli guests had come to visit, so it was lovely to see him again.

    There was much laughter and tomfoolery going on around the table, it was a very pleasant night.

    My boys taking photos of their mother taking photos of them!
    iPhone war laughing

    Then it was time for Seb to give Azzan some more instruction on some escape moves!

     

    I managed to get Azzan off to bed before 9pm.
    The others all left and I chatted with Phillipa on phone.
    Bed around 10ish.