March 31, 2013

  • Sunday 31st March - part 1

     

     

     

    Well, so much for plans to go to sleep early.

    I sat and chatted online with a friend from Florida while waiting for Shoshannah to return from possum hunting.

    She arrived back at around 1am, very happy that they had shot six.

    One with Cat in the tree outside her bedroom and five more up the hill with Sasha, David & Glenn.

    It was far far too late when I hit the pillow.

    I actually heard the rain begin at 2:30am.

    A lovely sound.

    So good to get some Autumn rains while the temperatures are still warm enough to provoke some grass growth before winter.

    I know it is Easter break and people are on holiday and they want sunshine.

    But, we are their primary food source, so we get to be happy with the rain winky

     

    I woke after 7am.

    Azzan had left the curtains open last night so I could see it was still damp outdoors but not raining.

    I tiptoed along the decking to get myself a morning cup of licorice tea.

    Bri was up watching a documentary.

    I toodled back to bed and continued sussing out the Ravelry website that I joined last night.

    Azzan woke and headed off to the kitchen to see Bri after she brought me some yummy porridge and threatened joshed him about having some too.

    We all know how much he loves porridge - not! laughing

    Thanks Bri - it was a nice change from hash browns and eggs.

    By 9am the rain had begun in earnest again.

     

    When I got up Sandy and family were in the kitchen.

    Sandy was all ready to begin cutting.

    She began with Azzan.

    Then there was the decision as to the colours!

    Is it alright if he has permanent rather than washout colour this time??

    I figure it is just hair and why shouldn't he have some fun.

    So Sandy got him mixing up the bleach after she had cut his hair.

    There was plenty of audience - the new bench makes a good lean to observe and comment from laughing

     

    So while Azzan's bleach 'cooked' he was allowed to mix up the colours he wanted while Sandy cut Leeann's hair.

    I carefully washed his hair.

    He really liked the bleached effect and nearly stopped at that point.

    Leeann had a mohawk this time for fun.

    Time to paint on the colour!

    Mahalia asked if she could have pink streaks.

    So she also went for permanent so Sandy put them into underneath layers.

    While Mahalia 'ccoked' Bri had her hair cut.

     

    And while all this beautification was underway Shoshannah was happily learning how to skin a possum in the workshop pleased

    Glenn & Graham chatted in the corner.

    And Leeann & Sasha made dessert - chocolate chip biscuits soaked in sherry and covered in whipped cream.

    Azzan's finished results.

    I think he has a future as a lighthouse beacon laughing

    Bri's haircut was really nice too, but she resisted the idea of added colour.

    Azzan is addicted to a game on my iPhone.

    It keeps him happy and quiet when I allow it!

    Cat's haircut pre colour.

    Then the blonde streaking

    and having lunch while her hair 'cooked'.

    Lunch was served for the hairdresser.

    Venison steak with salad and beetroot.

    Pretty impressive feed - she struggled to finish it all in spite of working so hard all morning!

    Mahalia washed her hair and then dried it.

    The colour looks great fun pleased

    I have been liaisoning with Jai Hall for some time re bells she has been casting for Land Girl Project - A Forgotten Story at the Otago Polytechnic Bachelor of Visual Arts, based on the Land Girls of NZ during WW2.

    Tim's mother Constance was a Land Girl so our farm was one of the 16 chosen to be custodians of these memorial bells.

    Cat hung it at the back door of our house as it is where all the traffic flows.

    We no longer have a cookhouse and the woolshed is not safe so at the house was the best place for now.

    On this side is etched the 'New Zealand Women's Land Service badge'

    and on the other

    ''We only did what was expected. We just got on with it.''

     

    Anson and Marah arrived back from Waitaria.

    The decision to not go out fishing or diving in '88 South' was made by both the boys as the weather was rather yuck.

    It had been drizzly and gusty all day with more rain threatening.

     

    They had enjoyed good night out.

    By the time Mahalia's hair had dried it was way past time to head over to Waterfall Bay.

    We drove over in Graham's and David's vehicles.

    While we were waiting for Bri we were discussing our downies.

    I commented that I bought mine as a men's one because I preferred the colour but I got sick of the zip jamming because it does up on the men's side.

    Shoshannah wondered why they had men's and women's sides.

    We suggested that it was so they could be zipped to gether and you could get all romantic, just like you can do with sleeping bags.

    So of course we had to try it.
    And it works - as long as you use the same brand of downie!!

    Very cosy laughing

    It was 2:30pm before we left.

     

     

     

Comments (2)

  •          ''We only did what was expected. We just got on with it.''

    That bell is perfect for you!

    Love everyone's hair! Should I cover my grey??

    Our opossum skins don't look like that! I hunt them, too! Go Shoshanna!

    Good thing you showed me what a downie is in the pic. I wear my Dad's old downie when I feed our critters.

    Happy Day to you from WV.

  • @Hampshiregal - Thanks - I hadn't thought of that. S'pose it is really eh? If you want to use colour then go for it!! Nice spot of fun

    I think our possums are different to yours - google NZ possum and then yours and compare. I actually bought mine and Tim's original downs at REI in Seattle about 7 years ago!! Still going strong.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment