April 23, 2013

  • Monday 22 April

     

     

     

    I had been knitting in my bed last night and around 10:45ish decided I was hungry.

    I have been rather erratic with my eating lately and hadn't had my lunch until quite late in the arvo.

    I went out to the kitchen to find some food, and to my great displeasure found all four wwoofers still sitting at the table.

    To give us a small amount of privacy the house curfew here is 9am so I was not happy.

    I told them I was turning off the lights so they slowly left the house.

    I finally got my dinner around midnight.

    Didn't sleep well and woke at 5am.

    Discovered there had been some terrible flooding in Richmond & Stoke.

    Hadn't seen any news the night before so was totally oblivious to the distress of some of my friends.

     

    Got myself up and began sorting out papers in the study.

    Made a good impression in there and filled up the rubbish bin a lot more.

    That is always a happy feeling.

     

    After breakfast Nis & Aylin chose to go sort dags in the woolshed.

    Pierre & Etienne went with Anson and spent the morning splitting and stacking wood.

    They have had a huge clean up behind the old shed.

    Anson is planning to get this corner all cleaned up and build a leanto shed to keep more wood under cover.

    It is a perfect spot for it.

    The poor old oil shed is almost done for.

     

    I spent the rest of the morning in the kitchen.

    I cleaned out the fridges.

    Resulting in the baking of a large quiche and a very large banana & choc chip cake.

    The cake only needed another 5-10mins cooking.

    I was really tired so asked Anson if he could please take it out as he was having lunch with the wwoofers.

    I lay on my bed for a while and watched a dvd and dozed.

    When I finally got up the guys had all gone.

    But the cake was still in the oven.

    It was only about 2 hours overcooked.

    I was so gutted that I just cried.

    It had taken all my energy to make it - it was a very large cake, 4 times the normal recipe, and was to feed the troops for several days.

    When the guys came in they ate some and pronounced it really good.

    The outside is very crusty but the inside is quite moist, so hopefully some of it will get eaten.

     

    I did some carrots and cabbage for dinner to go with the fish pie and rice.

    For dessert I gave the cake winky