October 24, 2012

  • Tuesday 23rd October

     

     

     

    Mahalia and I left home at 6am and drove to Nelson for the day.

    We called in to see Nathan at 8:20am and he had already left.

    We wanted to wish him a Happy Birthday.

    After a few texts I realised we weren't going to be able to catch up with till later so we left his birthday cake in the fridge and carried on to town.

    We had time to get frappuccinos and do a couple of jobs before my 9:30am appointment at the dentist.

    James could find nothing wrong with my tooth which had flared up the previous week.

    So now I just have to monitor it and see what happens.

    Mahalia sat in the car and played on my laptop while she waited for me.

    Then we were off to deliver the guitars to Mr Music to be fixed, and we just had time to zip over to Tahunanui to get some bulk foods before coming back to the city.

    Mahalia whizzed off to get hot potatoes for our lunch and I whizzed in to get another key cut.

    I like the girls to have a car key in their wallets just in case they need to get into the vehicle if I am busy.

    Then I left Mahalia at the dental hygienist with all the instructions on how to get to her harp lesson.

    I had organised a taxi to take her there because I was tied up for an hour with my counselor.

    I was a bit apprehensive about it all but had laid the plans out specifically with the taxi company, the receptionist and with Mahalia so it all went smoothly, and I was also delighted that they had sent a female driver for her.

    Well done Nelson Bays Cabs happy

    When I was finished I zipped up and picked her up and then raced down to Countdown to give Graham the house key as he was going out to wait at Seb's - good chance for him to rest in the sunshine after his morning in town and before the harrowing trip home.

    Then we were heading to Richmond.

    Just had time for Mahalia to have a piano lesson with Andrea while I zipped to CRT to pick up 20kg bird seed and 40kg dog biscuits.

    Then back to spruce up and load Mahalia & Andrea on board and head to the church for Josh's funeral.

    The church was packed - they reckoned over 300 were there.

    The 3 of us were directed up near the front so I wasn't aware of how many came until later.

    I was so impressed at how well the celebration was put together.

    It was a lovely blend of his family and his partner.

    It was an extremely emotional afternoon.

    Joshua was only 27.

    I so felt for Helen & Mike and the children.

    Helen played keyboard, Miriam flute, and Josiah guitar, along with two others provided the music for the only song we sung - 'How Great Thou Art'.

    It was so magnificent, but on seeing Helen with tears streaming unashamedly down her face my mother's heart just broke for her.

    The pastor was great, he was calm and unhurried and allowed everyone time to speak, grieve, and remember a lovely young man.

    After the spoken tributes we were all invited to write a tribute of reflection on the coffin or write on a heart or petal shaped sticky note.

    It was soon covered with sticky notes and messages.

    An hour and a half after Josh's 3 brothers Caleb, Josiah & Elisha, plus his 3 best mates had carried him into the church, they carried him back out.

    We all milled around the hearse and were offered rose petals to scatter on it from a basket held by his youngest sister Martha, and said our last silent goodbyes.

    Just as the door closed a tremendous shout went up and 4 of his Maori friends broke out into one of the most heartfelt hakas I think I have ever witnessed.

    (The link was a hake performed at the funeral of 3 soldiers recently here in NZ - much much bigger than at Josh's funeral but still incredibly moving.)

    That really did break open the emotional floodgates stunned

     

    Afterwards we all congregated in the church cafe area for a while and chatted over afternoon tea.

     

     

    I left Mahalia to go home with Margaret and David as she wanted to spend some time with Sophie.

    I had time to take my new wedge sandals tot he shoe stretcher, then leave my dress to have alterations done with Bedelia who was going to pass them on to the seamstress for me.

    Then it was last frappaccino for the day, get the groceries, fuel up the Terrano, pick up Mahalia and head out to pick up Graham.

    He had a lot more stuff to take home that I was expecting so we did a big repack.

    We then drove back to visit with Nathan and share a small part of his birthday with him.

    Frances & John were just heading out to Bible study so they had a piece of birthday cake and a hug as they walked out the door.

    I had created about seven photo books with photos of the 6 week trip Nathan had done with Jesika & myself back in 2006 when he was 10 years old.

    I think he was pretty happy with them.

    He spent a while sharing the memories of the experiences with Graham.

    Mahalia got into the cake while she waited for our dinners to heat.

     

    We ate, and talked for a while and then as it was getting late we had to head off.

    Last hugs goodbye and we were backing down the drive at 8:30pm.

    Graham & I talked the whole way home.

    Mahalia slept.

    She was not a happy camper when I had to wake her to open the three gates before our house.

    We unloaded Graham at The Croft with just what he needed for the night.

    He is staying there for a while until he feels strong enough to live up at his place.

    The Croft has power and is all on one level so will be more comfortable.

    Shoshannah & Mahalia are going to be doing home help for him - meals and housework etc as he cannot lift much etc yet.

    His injuries are more than just the 9 broken ribs and the torn spleen.

    He has also damaged his spine, shoulder and chipped his elbow plus other things.

    He still cannot explain how he managed to get out from between the log and the tractor except that it must have been angels helping him.

    With all the evidence he should not be with us today.

    It truly is a miracle.

     

    When we got to the house just on midnight Mahalia just walked in and fell straight into her bed.

    She was out to the count again in seconds.

    I wasn't too far behind.

    A long, emotionally packed day.

     

    While we were away Tim had taken Ellie, Shanni & Azzan out on the '88 South' to cut floats off in Maori Bay.

    They had enjoyed their time out there and Tim's comment to me was that Shanni had done really well pleased

    The girls had also done a lot of the list I had left for them too which was great and Azzan had even done some piano practice.

    'Shanni made me do half an hour!'

    Tim spent the afternoon helping Alan with getting his boat on the trailer.

    It took them much longer so with everything else he had to do he didn't get the house for dinner until around 10pm.

    So he wasn't in bed too long before me but he was snoring soundly so obviously was out to the count as soon as his head hit the pillow